National Certificate of Educational Achievement

NCEA is New Zealand’s qualification for Year 11-13 students. It is a standards-based assessment combining a mix of both internal and external assessments. At QMC girls have the opportunity to study levels 1-3 of NCEA. To achieve NCEA, students must meet the following requirements at each level. Credits are awarded as Achieved, Merit or Excellence.

Level 1

80 credits at Level 1 or higher

Level 2

A minimum of 60 credits at Level 2 and 20 credits from any other level (either higher or lower).

Level 3

A minimum of 80 credits, of which 60 must be at Level 3 or above, and 20 at Level 2 or above.

Subject Selection Handbook

Please click on the following links to view the full range of subject options available.

NCEA Year 11 Subject Handbook

NCEA Year 12 & 13 Subject Handbook


Students who achieve more than 50 credits with Merit or Excellence at any one level are awarded Endorsement Certificates. Students can also achieve course endorsements for each subject they study by achieving fourteen or more credits at Merit or Excellence (which include at least three credits in internal and external assessments). At QMC, students study more than the minimum NCEA requirements and our pass rates annually are well above the national standard at each level of NCEA.

To find out more information about NCEA click here.