Our namesake, Queen Margaret of Scotland, was known for her strength and conviction. And as an independent girls’ school, we instil these same values in our learners.
Our special character is nurtured by a rich history and respect for spirituality and different beliefs. Queen Margaret College first opened its doors on 19 February 1919 with 53 pupils. Our Scottish Presbyterian founders, The Hon. John Aitken and The Very Rev. Dr James Gibb, had a resolute belief in girls’ education.
The College’s original purpose was to provide a sound intellectual and moral education for girls. To build strong character on a broad religious basis.
Special assemblies such as Founders’ Day, Queen Margaret Day, Prefect Commissioning and House Banners keep the history and traditions of the College alive and expressed in our everyday life.
A heritage site
Our main building was originally built as a family homestead in Hobson Street, Thorndon by T.C Williams. Scots College was housed here from 1916 until 1918 when they moved to Miramar and Queen Margaret College was established.
We continue to deliver a rich, holistic education that emphasises community service and raises awareness of the needs of others.