International Baccalaureate

The IB Diploma is designed as a complete pre-university course with everything needed to succeed at university.

Why the IB Diploma?

The IB Diploma is an integrated course that emphasizes collaboration and the future skills needed for success. Subjects are not taught in isolation but refer to the other areas of life and knowledge. In the future, students will change careers several times over - a sound base in 6 areas is beneficial as it encourages different approaches and flexibility. You do not specialize too early and miss something that could be a future passion and career.

  • “IB Diploma students face no jump when entering university.” (Auckland University)
  • “Success in an IB Diploma programme correlates well with success at Harvard. We are always pleased to see the credentials of the IB Diploma Program on the transcript.” (Harvard University)
  • “The IB Diploma is a first-rate programme, one we are familiar with, and it prepares students well for a university like ours.” (Princeton University)

How does QMC do it so well?

  • We believe in the IB Diploma values
  • We have experienced staff who are IB Diploma examiners, trainers and workshop leaders
  • We have great relationships with our students and know them well
  • We use data tracking so we can provide extra support if necessary
  • We help each student reach their potential.

Follow the link below to express your interest and we will contact you shortly with more information.

The IB learner

The IB Learner profile is a set of learning outcomes that go beyond academic success. The profile aims to develop learners who are knowledgeable, principled, open-minded, caring, balanced and reflective. Learners are encouraged to be inquirers, thinkers, communicators and risk takers.

The IB Diploma "encourages students …(to) understand that other people, with their differences, can also be right."

Teaching and learning

The IB model includes six academic subject groups that students study concurrently. Students study six subjects selected from the subject groups. Normally three subjects are studied at a higher level and the remaining three subjects are studied at standard level.

Core requirements

There are three core requirements that are central to the philosophy of the IB Diploma; The Theory of Knowledge (TOK), Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS) and the Extended Essay (EE).

Subject selection

Language and Literature
Language Acquisition
Individuals and Societies

Please click the link below to view the full range of subject options available.

IB Years 12 & 13 Subjects Handbook

Find out more information about IB here.